Around the net: the next wave in smart photography, cultural windsock-reading, a cool book and an amazing illustrator

Just some links I found nice.

1.  Hchom

Five Breads by Marian Churchland

New blog to add to my favorites.  Quiet, warm, beautiful.  And with a lot of posts with bread in them. And chocolate.

I love the pictures she (Marian Churchland) takes and her illustrations.  I even like how she named her blog.

Not too articulate description, sorry, but I think readers should just check out her blog to see why I love it.

2. ‘Underneath Every Hoarder Is a Normal Person Waiting to Be Dug Out’

You have got to love that title.  It is the best line to draw attention to the New York Times article on the appeal of hoarding “self-help” reality shows, and what they could signify in terms of current culture and psyche.

As someone grappling with a deluge of “stuff”, it feeds my ego (or at the very least, comforts me) to have TV programs and news articles trying to explain hoarding and its psychological “deeper meaning”.  Whereas, as a young girl, I just kept having to hear everyone say I was “messy”.

I guess hoarding obsessive-compulsive disorder is the female adults’ ADD.  I am not making light of serious psychological ailments.  Sorry, I felt that I had to defend it, since I am a psychology major and I don’t want people thinking that I am disrespecting clinical definitions and actual disorders.  I just mean that the way people use terms so casually (like “depressed” and “insomniac”, without feeling clinical symptoms) often feel like rationalizations.  And, honestly, ways to sleep better at night by giving things labels, so they aren’t so strange anymore.

3.  Shapes for Sounds via Brain Pickings

Shapes for Sounds

4.  The “Say 100

This seems exciting to follow.  “The voices that shape opinion”.  It’ll be interesting to see what they come up with and how people respond, particularly the real-life middle class.

I enjoyed the Say blog.  I especially liked the post on the “Bored In Line” network (in contrast to “Bored at Work”).  It’s true, when designing for mobile web experience – you are competing against “Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare and the dopamine rush of flinging an angry bird at those obnoxious green pigs.”

5.  Ha ha ha.  Again, good title.

“Ambition + Desire = Trouble”

More scholarly evidence on testosterone, risk-taking and sex drive.

6.  Lytro

Wow.  Digital imaging just keeps getting smarter.  Now, you can shoot the pictures first and choose where you want to put the focus in post-editing.

via Lytro Picture Gallery

Its site has fun copy, too.

“This year, Lytro will debut the first light field camera for everyone. OK – you’re not everyone. You are a beautiful, unique snowflake. And you deserve an amazing camera that lets you capture life’s singular moments, like baby’s first steps not second, with maximum magic and minimum hassle. No more fighting with dials and settings and modes. No more flat, boring, static photographs. With a Lytro, you unleash the light.”

Leave a Reply

