Internet research findings!

Someday, I would want to be able to execute social networking research — some sort of data mining, or content analysis.  I’ve wanted to since I discovered Mimi Ito‘s new media studies.

I am, thankfully, one tiny step closer, what with my boss discovering supposedly newfangled research techniques from the conference she recently attended.

So, today, I shall celebrate my boss’s new learnings with a collection of fun Internet research-related stuff I found on the web!

This surf session led me to see the Pew Research Center.  They describe themselves as a “fact tank”, but I’m just happy to find some leads into research questions and methods on Internet and mobile usage.  Thank you, Good magazine and all the Internet hype about Millenials!

“Even though teens are heavily embedded in a tech-rich world, they do not believe that communication over the internet or text messaging is writing.” — Writing, Technology and Teens

How often do you send or receive text messages to…just say hello and chat–several times a day, at least once a day, a few times a week, less often or never? – Exploring social networking questions from the Pew Research Center

And now, for just some plain old nice things to watch and know:

1.  Know.  I am really happy about the Jon Stewart choice.  More markers that point to the semi-democratization of news and news commentary.  And, because during my brief visit to the US, he and Stephen Colbert (other than Kim Kardashian and Tina Fey) were the few people on TV that made me laugh at loud.

Top 49 Most Influential Men of 2010

2.  Watch – Guggenheim’s Most Creative Web Videos

3. Watch – Influencers

4. Watch – One Hundred Orbs of Floating Light

 

Leave a Reply

